2018 Commissioner and Clerk of the Year

date posted

On December 19th, 2018

Congratulations to Commissioner Gaylen Smyer and Carol Richel

Every year highway district personnel have the opportunity to nominate a deserving Commissioner to receive the IAHD Commissioner of the Year award. This year, the Association has extended such recognition to Highway District Clerks to receive the IAHD Clerk of the Year award. 

Commissioner of the Year

Commissioner Gaylen Smyer with Burley Highway District has earned the 2018 IAHD Commissioner of the Year award. As an Idaho native who grew up in Delco, Commissioner Smyer continues to live his life through bettering his community. He has maintained unwavering commitment to Burley Highway District for the past thirty-one (31) years, even while serving as the Cassia County School District Superintendent for the past eleven (11) years.  

Clerk of the Year

The recipient of the inaugural IAHD Clerk of the Year award is Carol Richel, a devoted clerk from Worley Highway District. Carol's sense of dependability and excellent collaboration has made her the "go-to clerk" to help navigate different situations the local Highway District Association in Kootenai County is faced with. Even after eleven (11) years with the district, Carol's favorite part of her job is putting together the budget. Carol explained, "We all have a lot of fun here at work, it's a great place to work."

2018 Clerk of the Year being awarded to Carol Richel by IAHD Board Members Dick Smith (Nampa HD), Dave Burgess (Twin Falls HD), Monte Henderson (Downey-Swan Lake HD), and IAHD President Neal Gier (Buhl HD)

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

contact information

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 202
Boise, ID 83705




Directors and staff

mailing address

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 202
Boise, ID 83705


resource center
Privacy PolicyLegal Disclaimer
© Copyright 2018 - Idaho Association of Highway Districts - All Rights Reserved. Site designed by V-Squared Creative.

Idaho Association of Highway Districts